David Bowie RIP: My Memorial Wall

How many hours of my life have I spent listening to David Bowie?

I can’t begin to quantify it.
All the hours spent on road trips, with Bowie albums played from start to end at max volume.
At home on a record player, a quiet drink, partying with friends.
With lovers.
The texture of my life has had Bowie woven into it.
I have been a working musician for most of my life, and have spent many, many hours playing along with Bowie records/songs, working song parts, solos.
Playing them again, ‘live’.
So much of my life has been Bowie.
Bowie was what could be.
Other ‘rock stars’ died too young, and we pondered what could have been.
Bowie answered that question.
What a star. What a legacy.
The Beatles were 4 parts, the sum greater than the individuals.
But Bowie was one person with a vision, a dream, and the inner fortitude to follow it.
And lead the way.
~ ~ ~

Bowie the Visionary

 
“Music itself is going to become like running water or electricity,” he added. 
 
“So it’s like, just take advantage of these last few years because none of this is ever going to happen again.”
“The absolute transformation of everything that we ever thought about music will take place within 10 years, and nothing is going to be able to stop it.
I see absolutely no point in pretending that it’s not going to happen.
I’m fully confident that copyright, for instance, will no longer exist in 10 years, and authorship and intellectual property is in for such a bashing.”
At 55, I don’t really think it’s going to change very much.
As you get older, the questions come down to about two or three.
How long? And what do I do with the time I’ve got left?
(If you are a fan, don’t miss the interview/link @nyt)
~ ~ ~

Tribute

 
Congratulations to New Zealand’s Timaru Herald for this unique Bowie tribute:

TIMARU HERALD WANTS TO KNOW WHOSE SHIRTS YOU WEAR

(via Tim Blair)

Songs 

(via youtube. thank you, youtube)

There is not a ‘favourite’.

Bowie sings of Jung, Himmler, Crawley, Orwell…

 Quicksand 1971. David Bowie
Don’t believe in yourself

Don’t deceive with belief
Knowledge comes
with death’s release

I’m not a prophet
or a stone age man
Just a mortal
with the potential of a superman
I’m living on

. . .
1974 Album Diamond Dogs
“Big Brother”
Lyrically, the song reflects the ending of Nineteen Eighty-Four, where Winston Smith’s brainwashing is complete, and he loves Big Brother.
“Chant of the Ever Circling Skeletal Family”
This song is David Bowie’s interpretation of George Orwell’s “two minute hate” from his novel “Nineteen Eighty-Four”.
Its mesmerizing chanting represents the mind-numbing influence that the two minutes has over the brainwashed citizens of Oceania, 1984’s totalitarian government.”
. . .
1977 “Speed of life” – Track 1 from Low, the first part of his Berlin Trilogy.

To make “Low,” Mr. Bowie recalled: “I had brought the idea of having fundamentally an R & B rhythm section working against this new zeitgeist of electronic ambience that was happening in Germany.
It was terribly exciting to know that one had stumbled across something which was truly innovative.

This post could go on for ever, but it must end somewhere.
When I feel like adding something I will.
Thank you David Bowie.

Update: Popheads: – Tribute to David Bowie In the 70’s

Update:  Bowie’s death marks the Twilight of the Rock Gods

